FIFA Best Awards 2018 LIVE: Mo Salah, Cristiano Ronaldo and Luka Modric up to win best player - New Gersy

Header Ads

FIFA Best Awards 2018 LIVE: Mo Salah, Cristiano Ronaldo and Luka Modric up to win best player

The Best Fifa Awards 2018: What time does it start, is it on TV and will Luka Modric beat Cristiano Ronaldo and Mo Salah?

FIFA Best Awards 2018 | Monday 24 Sep. 2018 | Royal Festival Hall in London | 6:30pm UK time to 10:30 at night

The time has once again arrived to celebrate the best that the beautiful game has to offer at the Best Fifa Football Awards, with Luka Modric, Cristiano Ronaldo and Mohamed Salah all competing to be crowned the top men's player of 2018.

- FIFA Best Awards 2018-

Croatia and Real Madrid star Modric returns to London with the best chance of being named Fifa's men's player of the year - an honor that nobody else other than Lionel Messi or Ronaldo has had for a decade.

The former Tottenham midfielder's hopes of breaking the 10-year Messi/Ronaldo duopoly are based on two pillars: one, Messi has not made the shortlist for the first time since 2007; and two, Modric was the player of the tournament at this summer's World Cup and won UEFA's player of the year last month.

Ronaldo, however, has been nominated for another player of the year prize, with Liverpool and Egypt hero Salah completing the line-up.

The Best Fifa Awards 2018: What time does it start, is it on TV and will Luka Modric beat Cristiano Ronaldo and Mo Salah?

Since 2008, it has been Lionel Messi first and Cristiano Ronaldo second five times, and Ronaldo first, Messi second five times.

- FIFA Best Awards 2018-

Ronaldo, of course, will have his backers again, in a voting system that is equally weighted between national team managers, national captains, representatives from the media and an online public vote.

The 33-year-old, who joined Juventus this summer in a £99million deal, helped Real Madrid win a third straight Champions League title last season, his fifth in total, with 15 goals in the tournament. But Portugal did not progress beyond the last 16 in Russia, although Ronaldo did score a memorable hat-trick against Spain.

Luka Modric was also a key member of that Madrid side but he also drove Croatia to their first appearance in a World Cup final, where they lost 4-2 to France but not before beating the likes of Argentina, Russia and of course England.

Mo Salah, like Ronaldo, was not at his peak in Russia but he at least had the excuse of not being fit following his controversial tangle with Sergio Ramos in the Champions League final. Prior to that moment, though, the Egyptian was arguably the hottest finisher in the world with his 32 Premier League goals a record for a 38-game season.

FIFA Best Awards 2018 LIVE: Mo Salah, Cristiano Ronaldo and Luka Modric up to win best player

Here's how things stand for the three finalists for the men's player of the year award...

TV, online and live stream coverage
The ceremony will be broadcast via live streams on Fifa's Youtube, Twitter, and Facebook social media channels, while New Gersy Sport will bring you to live coverage of all the awards.

Ceremony time, venue and presenters
The ceremony begins at 7:30pm BST at the Royal Festival Hall in London.

Compared by British actor Idris Elba and featuring a performance by Noel Gallagher, the awards ceremony are in their third year in this guise having previously been a joint venture with France Football's Ballon d'Or between 2010 and 2016, and before that the Fifa World Player of the Year award.

Where are the awards?
This year's ceremony will be held at the Royal Festival Hall, on London's Southbank.

Monday, September 24 - ie tonight. 

What time is it?
The ceremony is scheduled to run from 6:30pm UK time to 10:30 at night. 

What awards is Fifa offering this year?
The Best Fifa Men's Player
The Best Fifa Women's Player
The Best Fifa Men's Coach
The Best Fifa Women's Coach
The Best Fifa Goalkeeper 
The Fifa Fair Play Award
The Fifa Puskás Award
The Fifa Fan Award
Fifa Fifpro World11

What does the trophy look like?

The same trophy design is used for all individual awards  CREDIT: FIFA 

The main award of the evening will undoubtedly be the 'Best Fifa Men's Player' award, which is Fifa's equivalent of the prestigious Ballon d'Or.

The tall silver trophy, which bears a strong resemblance to the Fifa World Cup trophy, is simply engraved with the title 'The Best'. 

How are the winners decided?
Unlike France Football's Ballon d'Or, the winner of Fifa's The Best award is decided by a vote.

At least, it's 25 percent a public vote. Another 25 percent of voting rights go to members of the world's media, while another quarter each goes to national team coaches and national team captains.

There was minor controversy last month when the shortlist for the Best Men's Player of the Year award shortlist did not include Barcelona and Argentina forwards, Lionel Messi - despite the 31-year-old winning the European Golden Shoe last season. 

Award shortlists

Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus & Portugal)
Luka Modric (Real Madrid & Croatia)
Mohamed Salah (Liverpool & Egypt)

The Best Fifa Women's Player

Ada Hegerberg (Lyon & Norway)
Dzsenifer Marozsan (Lyon & Germany)
Marta (Orlando Pride & Brazil)

The Best Fifa Men's Coach

Zlatko Dalic (Croatia)
Didier Deschamps (France)
Zinedine Zidane (Real Madrid)

The Best Fifa Women's Coach

Reynald Pedros (Lyon)
Asako Takakura (Japan)
Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands)

Source: The Telegraph
Source: Evening Standard


Mohammad is a young Entrepreneur running a number of sites from his living room. He is an experienced SEO Consultant, Computer Engineer, Professional Blogger & an addicted Web Developer

No comments:

Powered by Blogger.